What's wrong with this setup (Gallons per k)?

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by GCLC, Mar 10, 2008.

1. GCLC

GCLC LawnSite Member

I'm new to this spraying stuff, and just did a test run today. We have a 60 gal tank (really holds only 55) and the spraying systems lawn gun. We measured off 1000 sf and sprayed it. We used 18 gallons. So we mixed the chems and sprayed the yard accordingly. I must have started overlapping more or slowed down, because I estimate that I was closer to 25 gal/k towards the end. We were using barricade and triplet.

The gun is spraying maybe an 18" swath. As you can imagine it took forever. We didn't time it but probably 3 hrs to do a 11,000 sf lawn :hammerhead:

What are we doing wrong? I guess one problem may be my assumption that the area should be completely blue when done. Is this correct? Basically I mean that the grass looks painted, no areas of yellow at all really.

2. Rayholio

Rayholio LawnSite Bronze Member

That's a lot more than we use.. we average about 1-2 gallons per 1k on most apps, and it varries by applicator.. I always have my guys spray the same area a few times, monitoring their consumption, and then averaging it for the mixture.. it is important to be consistant when spraying..

I highly suggest using a dye for your 1st few weeks at this, after a while you won't need it.. and you'll almost immediately not want it :) MESSY!

3. GCLC

GCLC LawnSite Member

We were using blue dye. Do we need to spray until the entire area is blue, or is it ok to have a blue and yellow mix. I was assuming that to have complete coverage we shouldn't see any yellow. Of course, when you assume....

4. Rayholio

Rayholio LawnSite Bronze Member

Very light blue, or very dark blue after the app.. either one is fine, as long as the entire lawn is the same shade.. and you have properly calibrated your equipment, and yourself :)