Whats your experience with college?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Stihl036pro, Mar 13, 2004.

1. Stihl036pro

Stihl036pro LawnSite Member

Did you ever wish that you went to college? I know if I went to college I would not have very much equipment but I would have that degree. I hated school and did not want to put the effort into college, I would have rather put the effort into building my business. Which I did. I wonder if I would be farther ahead in life if I went to school. I have nice equipment that is paid for expect for my new truck. It sometimes bothers me that I don't have a degree in landscaping or somthing along the lines of the green industry. Whats your experience with college?

2. jmcooper

jmcooper LawnSite Member

My previous employer of 18 years had a program where they would pay 75% of college tuition. I worked full time and went to school at night. It took me 8 years but I got a Bachelors degree in business. Best thing I ever did, it helps me in my business practices today.

3. Flipperneck

Flipperneck LawnSite Member

I have been working for others and going to school till last summer. It took 8 years to get a Bachelors in Electronic Engineering. After I finished, I realised Landscaping is what like to do. So in my case it didn't help. I could have started years ago without a ton of student loan debt. Now I am refinancing my home to pay them off and get my start up capital. So I am now behind in my opinion. The only good that came out of it to me was that I have a Degree to hang on the wall and I learned alot of Hardscape over the past couple years in addition to the years of maintenance and softscape.

4. coonman

coonman LawnSite Senior Member