1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

whats your repair skill level on small engines? trimmers, blowers etc....

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by lawnwizards, Jul 1, 2008.

whats your skill level at repair? 1 being lowest and 10 highest.

1. 1-2. i'm a newbie.

1 vote(s)
  2. 3-4. i can change an air filter.

9 vote(s)
  3. 5-6. i can clean an exhaust port.

11 vote(s)
  4. 7-8. i can rebuild a carb.

10 vote(s)
  5. 9-10. there is nothing i dont know how to do.

22 vote(s)
  1. lawnwizards

lawnwizards LawnSite Silver Member

just wanted to start a thread on the skill levels of repair work each of us have on small engines. you know, trimmers, blowers, stuff like that. anyway, lets hear em.

2. billslawn89

billslawn89 LawnSite Bronze Member

lately, the way things are going, i am learning how to fix things then taking it in to the repair shop!
  3. LedgedaleLawn

LedgedaleLawn LawnSite Senior Member

In this business you have to know how to work on your own equipment. If you are always going to the dealer you'll go bankrupt.
  4. ALC-GregH

ALC-GregH LawnSite Fanatic
    from PA

For me, I love welding, wrenching and just getting dirty. :D Worked on autos for 30 years. I could probably walk in most any of the companies that make the mowers we use and start welding the decks, assembling everything, pretty much all of it. Mechanic's really isn't that hard, righty tighty, lefty loosy... :D

I also know enough to wire a house by code, or plumb in new water lines, I've even put a small addition on a previous home I owned all the way from the footers up. After 30 years, my index and middle fingernails are twisted when my fingers are straight. LOL Turned way to many nuts and bolts in my time.

Working on my mower is like a walk in the park. :D
  5. dhardin53

dhardin53 LawnSite Senior Member