1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

wheel horse 724Z

Discussion in 'Tractors' started by briggs33, Mar 20, 2008.

1. briggs33

briggs33 LawnSite Member

hello newbie here!i got a wheel horse 724Z for free today and the kohler engine sometimes starts but wont stay running(sometimes)?does anyone have any schematics i can look at?
  2. Are you sure it's a Kohler because most of them had a Onan Engine ?
  3. brownsallseasonlandscape

brownsallseasonlandscape LawnSite Member

I dont know anything about that model but heres a pic of someothers they are all for sale make an offer.

Wheel Horse Collection 1.jpg
  4. Very nice tractors!
  5. briggs33

briggs33 LawnSite Member

i am positive its a kohler. heres the specs-its a wheel horse 724-Z zero turn with a 25 horse power kohler command with electric clutch for the blades it has a 54" deck. i know toro and dixie had connections with these. today i went in my garage and started to tinker on it a little. so i got it started and tried to move but it figited then stopped and it kept doing that so i looked at the drive line and there is a shaft that runs from the motor to the hydro pump then splits of to the hydro motors? ill try to post a pic in a minute

6. Someone must have changed the engine at one time because I don't remember Wheel Horse ever having one with a 25 Hp Kohler engine in one. Looks like a 1986 to a 1989 model. Vin Number should be something like Z1-24oe01
    For a parts breakdown see link

Brand - Toro Consumer

Then scroll down to - riding products - click enter

Then scroll to the bottom and Z1-20KE01 - Click enter

Then Click on Change assembly to navagate

Let me know if that helps

7. briggs33

briggs33 LawnSite Member

thanks kevin ill try it