When and how to get commercial accounts for next season?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by FrankenScagMachines, Sep 27, 2002.

1. FrankenScagMachines

FrankenScagMachines LawnSite Platinum Member
    from IN

When is the best time to approach a business about a contract to do next season's work for them? I have never done a commercial before, so also how do you approach them? Thanks,
  2. A good way to get commercial accounts is to under bid the guy that is currently doing the work.
  3. bubble boy

bubble boy LawnSite Bronze Member

did i miss something? was there a thread where chopique was flamed, the members got it all out of the system, and now everyone just ignores him???

cause it seems with posts like this (there are many) he would be getting nailed everywhere.

can we ban this moron?:confused:
  4. FrankenScagMachines

FrankenScagMachines LawnSite Platinum Member
    from IN

bubble boy, I must have missed that one. I have no clue what you're talking about.

Underbidding: only as long as I can still make good money at it.
    Any other ideas as to how to approach them and when is the best time of year to do this?
  5. Mykster

Mykster LawnSite Senior Member

I'm doing it now. Been talking to P.Mgmt. Co's all week, some of their contracts will be up for bid within the next couple of weeks,hopefully it will pay off. Monday I will be attending a pre-bid meeting for our county PUD. All their contracts are from Nov-Nov.
  6. dlandscaping

dlandscaping LawnSite Senior Member
    from mass

Heres a few tips for your biz
    1. Get more than 1 residential client
    2. Get a truck and a commercial mower and blower
    3. Get insurance pay taxes
    4. Dont be trugreen and underbid since you have no Mexicans working for $3 an hr for you. You have no work therefore cant pay anyone else to work with you. Large commercial you cant do.