When to go "full time"

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Smitty58, Jun 19, 2004.

1. Smitty58

Smitty58 LawnSite Senior Member

I'm debating on quitting my full time job and doing lawn care full time. I have been doing lc part time for 2 years now ,and my business has really grown. I am operating my "part time" business as a full time biz (insurance, equipment, accept credit cards, the whole thing) ,I not someone just trying to make some mad money. I would love to leave my job of 20 years and do lawn care full time ,but I guess I'm a little worried. I've heard all the things about being afraid to fail ,but really when did you guys (and gals) make the switch to full time. What prompted you to make the switch ,did you get laid off or did you choose to go into it full time. I currently earn $55 k a yr at my full time job ,can I make this much in lawn care? I think I can in fact I think the earning potential is huge ,but I would like to hear it from some of you that have done it. Thats what this forum is all about ,right?
    Thanks for the help.
  2. lawnman_scott

lawnman_scott LawnSite Fanatic

Yes you can. I was making about $50 when i quit my job. What prompted me to leave was my boss, quite simple. Kind of a struggle at first, but after a while its great. Been 8 years in July, and I cant complain
  3. Smitty58

lawnman_scott - thanks, what was the struggle? Did you do lc part time before quitting your full time job?
  4. walker-talker

walker-talker LawnSite Platinum Member
    from Midwest

I am in the same boat as you. I am to the point that most my time outside my fulltime job is spent on my part-time job (lawncare). How I am going to do it is bank most everything I can this year. Next spring quit my full-time job and get a part-time job working in the evenings. This will allow me to spend more of my time "on my business", instead of "in my business".

Good luck
  5. Smitty58