1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

When to hire an employee??

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by 2k1yzfr1, Aug 17, 2004.

1. 2k1yzfr1

2k1yzfr1 LawnSite Senior Member

I have been doing lawn maintenance for about 5 years now, but just in the past year I have got to the point where I can't do it on my own without some part time help. I'm mowing about 70-75 properties at the moment and I'm pretty much maxed out without hiring someone else. My only employee (my 15 y/o brother) just started back to highschool today and now I'm solo until 3:45. For the past couple years I have been paying him $6 a yard which most of my yards with my current equipment averages him about $14-$18 an hour. I keep purchasing faster equipment to keep up, but I'm at the point where I've got the best mower for almost every yard (except a 44" for the 48" gates, but the 36" isn't that much slower.) I'm kinda stuck in the point where I can't get anymore work b/c I don't have help, but I can't get help b/c I don't have any extra work. So my question is when did y'all get to the point where you decided to have 1 full time employee help you out?? :confused:
  2. spin2098

spin2098 LawnSite Member

well I don't know your whole sitution. One thing you have to look at is can you keep up on your own? If you can then don't hire someone else. However your not going to be able to grow much more. When I was cutting 40 yards I had someone helping me. It just made my life so much easier and less stress. With 70 plus yeards I would look for someone maybe 2 days a week. That will help you out and allow you to expand a bit more. That is just my opinion.
  3. Randy Scott

Randy Scott LawnSite Bronze Member