When to put in bid?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by bnbelim, Aug 8, 2006.

1. bnbelim

bnbelim LawnSite Member

Hey guys, I'm new to the commercial accounts and there is a few places in my area I would like to bid on. How do I go about doing it? Estimate the land and give a bid? Should it be in writing? When shoudl I do it? thanks!
  2. You need to ask them. They're all different.
  3. BPLS1993

BPLS1993 LawnSite Member

haggerty is right they are all different, majority i would say are jan starts so in by sept ushually, the first thing you need to do is get in contact with a propert manager and find out if they are expecting bids, then possibly walk the grounds with them and get back in a day or two with a written estimate. then go from there
  4. coney12

coney12 Banned
    from mars

if I were in your shoes eddy,the first thing I would do is contact the person
    in charge of purchasing services and ask them when will the lawn maintenance go up for bid.that way you don't step on thee other lawn care company shoes. secondly, ask them if you could be placed on the bidders list.some company's have a list.
    third, ask them if it would be ok for you to send them a letter of introduction.
    this should include name,what services you provide,if insured,reference's,ect.ect.good luck
  5. dKoester

dKoester LawnSite Gold Member

Get a 3 ring binder and go to whichever one you want to estimate and ask when do they start taking bids. Take down the information and be ready to estimate and give your bid when the time comes up.
  6. bnbelim

bnbelim LawnSite Member

Thanks guys, just what I needed to hear. I'm goign to be running my business out of New Hampshire. We still have snow on the ground in april the majority of years :). I'm going to call local banks and firm ASAP to find out when I CAN put in a bid.
  7. Let-it-mow!

Let-it-mow! LawnSite Member