When to start

Discussion in 'Turf Renovation' started by AndyTblc, Mar 17, 2008.

1. AndyTblc

AndyTblc LawnSite Fanatic

Alright, I'm going to redo my lawn this spring, I am going to rototill down 2 inches, because I have underground sprinklers, then bring in black dirt and use the kubota and the D.9 mini dozer and level the whole yard out so there are no dips dunks and dinks. When do you think is the right time to start, correct me if i"m wrong, but this is what I think is a good time, i've never done this before. I plan on starting it when the weather is in the 50's and when it won't freeze anymore so the grass can start growing. Any more information you could pass along.

2. Mark Bogart

Mark Bogart LawnSite Member

Seed or sod? Makes a difference on when you can start. Use compost if your adding anything to the soil. If you have a set of as-builds for the irrigation system than this would help you work the compost 4-6" deep. Never seen a D9 mini dozer! I've operated a Cat D9 dozer for years and I don't think you want to use that on your yard.

3. AndyTblc

I'm going to reseed, and I can't go down that deep, because the water lines. The D.9 dozer isn't mine, neither is the Kubota, it's one of my friends. This dozer has I think a 16hp motor on it. I don't know the full specs on it, but I sure can find out. But I'm going to use it to push some of the raised dirt to some of the lowered dirt where we had a cement mixer come in. You'd have to see my yard to see what I"m doing.

4. Runner

Runner LawnSite Fanatic