1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

When you are looking at used equipment...

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by mbricker, Jan 10, 2005.

1. mbricker

mbricker LawnSite Senior Member

I had a hunch the other day about a mower I was looking at, that the service intervals just might have been a bit over-long.

So it suddenly occurred to me to ask the owner, "Hey, is your grease gun handy? I would like to squirt a little grease into these spindles."

And the guy says, "He!!, man, I'm no mechanic. So I get everything done at the dealer. Every spring. First thing before the customers start calling, _________ [name of local dealer] goes through the whole works."

I managed to keep from telling him he was an idiot. And somebody else can buy his mower. It just had about 400 hours on it, but it sure sounded like a lot more.
  2. lawncare4u

lawncare4u LawnSite Senior Member
    from S>C>

You were smart to leave that mower where it was!If a man don''t think any more of his equitment than that.............he must not realize how expensive it is when replacement time comes! :sleeping:
  3. rodfather

rodfather LawnSite Fanatic

Spindles are one thing, but I wonder if he ever checked the oil? :dizzy:
  4. 65hoss

65hoss LawnSite Fanatic

Yea, I agree. Spindles are cheap to fix compared to the motor being toast at 500 hours.
  5. Travis Followell

Travis Followell LawnSite Silver Member
    from KY

I don't know why people want to go buy a high dollar mower and not maintain it. Maybe some people are just too dumb. I don't know. It was a smart move to walk away from that mower.
  6. General Grounds

General Grounds LawnSite Senior Member