1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

where can i legally put flyers

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by sadavion22, Nov 28, 2005.

1. sadavion22

sadavion22 LawnSite Member
    from ny

i live in new york i wanna know where can i legally put flyers without conflicting with the law...thanks
  2. lawnboy1701

lawnboy1701 LawnSite Member

I am fairly new to the lawn industry but I have worked in related fields where flyer's were my number one source of business. The best way to get them into potential clients hands is to canvas a neighborhood and drop them on the door. I thought several times of going to malls or football games and dropping them on windshields. I called around to several of these venues and was told that if they caught me dropping flyer's on their property they would first make me pick up all the flyer's that i had dropped then i would be prosecuted to their fullest extent. Even if you are able to get flyer's out this way it will have you running leads all over town. The best way is to drop the flyer's in the neighborhoods that you want to work. I have used two different flyer's. I have simply made one on the computer and went to kinkos and had them printed up on bright paper. This is a little less expensive but is still efficient at getting phone calls. The other type that I have used are door hangers. They are made of thick paper and they hang on the door very nicely. This is a little more expensive but it looks much more professional and stays on the door insuring the home owner will see it. I believe i had a thousand printed up for around 200 dollars. I have hung tons of flyer's in neighborhoods that say no soliciting. This in my opinion is more of a suggestion. I have hung literally tens of thousands of flyer's over the years and have never once had