Where do you start the 1st cut with the ZTR ?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by tportela, May 29, 2008.

1. tportela

tportela LawnSite Member

I used my NEW Toro Z453 ZTR for the first time yesterday. Boy what an experience that was especially since Ive been using a ride on JD lawn tractor for 9 years. I started cutting at the perimiter first, but I am used to starting the 1st pass by going down the middle of the yard as a center point first then cut my way toward one side heading toward the perimiter. Once finished with that 1/2 I'll go back to the center line & cut towards the other 1/2 of the yard to finish.

Whats the best way typically to start cutting once the perimiter has been done. I have mulch beds to go around & lots a curves due to tree beds. 2 acres total lawn front & back.

Tips are appreciated.
  2. A-Land

A-Land LawnSite Senior Member

That's how I use to cut greens because it keeps the lines fairly strait. You can definitely still do that with a ZTR or a WB if you are just starting. Once you have stripes down (Using a Toro in NJ you should have some) then you don't have to worry about where to start and you can just follow the lines you already made.

I typically mow the perimeter, then start at one side. However, I am generally already following lines that are there. If it the first time on the yard or I am cutting in a new direction I will mow a line down the middle first. Either way works!! (Just make sure that if you mow down the middle first, your first pass on the second side has to be going the right way!! Otherwise the stripes will be allll messed up)
  3. topsites

topsites LawnSite Fanatic

How I do it, first the entire perimeter, to include the house and driveway and
    not every yard has these but also mulch beds and stuff like that.