1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Where does most of your business come from

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by greenguy6870, Jun 29, 2006.

1. greenguy6870

greenguy6870 LawnSite Member

I'm just starting out and am wondering what are your most successful ways of drumming up business. Here is what I am currently doing: Fliers door to door, add in thrifty nickle, and business cards to Realtors and builders. I am planning on truck magnets and yellow pages soon. I am also hoping for (of course) referrals from friends and customers. So far it is slow going, I know it's getting late for new customers, so I am wondering what the most effective methods are.
  2. Poncho25

Poncho25 LawnSite Senior Member

I started late also, and today I drove a few of the neighbors kids around to help put out door hangers. We put out about 300 or so today and I got 4 calls from them already, 1 was a tire kicker (just wanting to know price) 2 others already agree'd to sign an on going agreement and one needed a cut before the holiday and will get back with me after, if she feels it was a good job / price. I took the advice from some of the people here, and all these door hangers were placed in my subdiv, so I offered lower then the normal price to them because of that fact.

I also tried out ServiceMagic for a few leads, they charge 11 bucks a lead, and they have sent me about 11 leads, and out of that I have 8 signed yearly accounts...so its worked and already paid for itself for me...
  3. Jamesgateslandscaping

Jamesgateslandscaping LawnSite Senior Member

Its a secret:laugh: :usflag:
  4. greenguy6870

greenguy6870 LawnSite Member

:dizzy: don't worry, you can tell, your secret is safe with me!
  5. stroker51

stroker51 LawnSite Senior Member