Where is the profit??

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Volwrath, May 21, 2008.

1. Volwrath

Volwrath LawnSite Member

I was wondering where the most profit could be found in landscaping. I know mowing can build a big customer base, but it isnt really that profitable in the long run. What jobs can earn you the most money??

2. daveintoledo

daveintoledo LawnSite Silver Member

one of the most profitable for us....

3. Volwrath

Volwrath LawnSite Member

That may be so but on Long Island its not the same. I worked for a company that did $5 million a year and did more mowing than anything else and that only made them break even after expenses. That $5 million was mostly from other jobs. Since I am only starting out, I know that I will not have the capital to make that much right away obviously. What I'm asking is, that are the best jobs to do starting out that require little capital but will still bring in the green??

4. SOS Landscaping

SOS Landscaping LawnSite Member

SERVICES.... that is where you make your money. Lawn mowing is your foot in the door basically. pesticide permits, fertilizer permits, mulch, landscape design(trees, shrubs, beds, etc...) that is where you bring in the money. Offer anything you can snow plowing, pavers, irrigation systems, water features, maintenance schedules

5. capetan

capetan LawnSite Member

lawn mowing is only profitable if you have a lot of customers in close area, if you have 10 customers in one neighborhood, yes thats profitable, if you have to drive to each individual house thats not profitable for $35 cuts thats not..... for me mowing is supplemental income, landscaping is most profitable for me, ask yourself do i make more mowing all day long or landscaping all day long, for me i day for day i make triple the amount landscaping then mowing

6. jrush

jrush LawnSite Member