Where's my confidence hiding??

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by ecoYota, Feb 20, 2008.

1. ecoYota

ecoYota LawnSite Member

Hola GreenPeople!

I’ve been doing yard maintenance for almost 3 years now & I still lack confidence in pricing properly, please help?!

I’ve pretty much been charging $20p/hr to one time customers & $15 to customers I’ve had from the beginning. I live in the Southwest and a lot of what I do pertains to Xeriscapes (drought tolerant landscapes, using native & non watering loving plants). But I also do big weed jobs, & prefer planting. Last year I picked up a few mowing accounts, however, I cannot stand smelling the gas lawn mower & smelling like gas the rest of the day. I have a lot of elderly, widowed women clients whom I know have a lot of “disposable income” & are willing to pay well, but I feel like I always short change myself.

This happens because the only way I’ve known how to estimate a job is to just guess how long it will take, multiply that by $15 or $20 & add a bit for the fuel (my truck & equipment). Also, if they pay by check, I add the gross receipts sales tax.

A few of my customers have told me that I need to charge more so in the fall I started charging $25p/hr, which I feel is too much. I’m a 29 year old female & I think I have a subconscious fear that people expect me to charge less because: A.) I’m female & perhaps it will take me longer, B.) I work solo so perhaps it will take me longer, & C.) If they wanted to pay more they’d hire a Landscape crew w/about 5 guys who can get it done fast!

I’ve struggled to make good money in the past 3 years & have had to pick up a super early a.m. paper route that’s 7 days a week, to help pay the bills!!! UGH!!!