1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Which 36 would be best?????

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Elawncare, Aug 29, 2004.

1. Elawncare

Elawncare LawnSite Member

I'm a newbie and am currently using a toro 22, I only have 8 residential lawns this year but hope to have 15 - 20 next year. I am looking into getting a 36 but I don't know which one. There are a couple dealers around here but only one good one and he sells ferris, exmark, and wright. I looked into getting a metro, but for 400.00 more I could get a Ferris hydro walk SD which is a single hydro for 3,000.00. So my question is should I go with the Ferris because it's a hydro, the metro because it's cheaper, or look at used equipment in the paper?????

BTW: If I buy from the dealer he will give me a mower to use when mine is in his shop.
  2. BillyRgn

BillyRgn LawnSite Member

i never buy anything used and i would say you get what you pay for usually hydros are alot more expensive and personally i like exmark walk behinds better
  3. all degree

all degree LawnSite Senior Member

I was in about the same situation at as you at one point. I would buy a belt drive 36 and get a hydro later as you buy a bigger mower. Belts are not as good as hydros but with that amount of work you will be fine.

I have a Toro 36 inch proline w/12.5 kawa. Never had a prob. Expect to pay $2000 new for this machine.

Good luck!
  4. KL Squared

KL Squared LawnSite Member