Which bed edger??

Discussion in 'Turf Renovation' started by merrimacmill, May 18, 2008.

1. merrimacmill

merrimacmill LawnSite Senior Member

I know this has been talked about quite a bit, but it seems that most of the convorsations on here about this are "well get this brand, its what I have and its good". I want to know why its better than any of the other ones. This is my first year and we haven't gotten a break with the mulching jobs. I've already installed over 75 yards of mulch since april. I got into this expecting mostly a demand for mowing, but its mostly all been mulching and clean-ups.

Anyways, about 80 percent of our time on a mulch job is spent doing the edging trenches. Right now I cut it using a stick edger, then dig it out using a flat shovel and a garden hoe. It comes out pretty good, but no where near what I've seen these dedicated machines do. I think I've found enough of a demand to purchase one of these machines, so now its time to start looking at the different brands.

The ones I'm interested in are the Little Wonder bed shaper, and the BlueBird Bed Bug. I think that the Little wonder would have better parts and service availibility for me, since there is two close by dealers. The blue bird seems to have more features though. Such as how you can lock the wheels to get a perfect straight line. Maybe the little wonder does all this, but its just not as advertised.

Any opinions/experience on these two machines or other machines I should be looking at? I'm looking to spend around $2500 on one, but less is always better. As long as it is a quality machine that will last.

2. cgaengineer

cgaengineer LawnSite Fanatic

Have you thought of renting the ones you like just to get the feel for them before laying down the cash?

3. merrimacmill