Which choice is the best?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by LawnBoy89, Mar 16, 2004.

1. LawnBoy89

LawnBoy89 LawnSite Senior Member

Hey everyone! I'm new here, and new to lawnmowing. I've been doing it since I was 9 years old and I am now 15. I have decided that I would like to open a landscaping business but I have to start out with a lawnmower. I have a Craftsmen ride on lawnmower but that will most definently not do the job. And this is what leads me to my question.

I've been looking for an eXmark 48" walk behind, until I saw the new zero turn ride on lawnmower from Craftsmen. Compared to a commercial type this lawnmower is really cheap. A 50" ride on would be really nice. So I'm asking, do you think it would be reasonable to spend $4000 on this lawnmower. I'm sorry I cannot provide you with the full name of the mower. If you guys don't think this is a good idea then please tell me and I will follow through with going with the eXmark walk behind. Thanks for the help guys.

2. charlies

charlies LawnSite Senior Member
    from earth

in my opinion, buying non-commercial equipment is a complete waste of money, wether it be mowers, or trimmers, or blowers.

if you are serious about the business, get the walk behind, and you can't go wrong with exmark, dixie chopper, hustler, grasshopper. one day in the future of your growing business, you will probably need both a zero turn and a walk behind. if you can only get one, get a commercial w/b, because of it's versatility.

but don't just take our word for it, and then do it. there is alot of b.s. ing going on around here. only use information from this website as part of your research.

talk to dealers of any equipment you may be interested in. here too be careful, despite the fact that some of the people around here are bosom buddies with their local dealers, remember that a dealer makes money buy selling you something. his sole purpose in life is to seperate you from your money.

visit manufacturers websites.