Which Lawn Services, That You Provide, Are The Most Profitable?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Bob E G, Jan 28, 2007.

1. Bob E G

Bob E G LawnSite Member
    from 53717

I'm a landscaper, just starting into lawn maintence and would really like your opinions. And here is my question:

Of ALL the services a company could provide, WHICH ONE/S are the most profitable? (for the time you spend, and the investment) (i.e. Mowing, Aerating, Leaves, etc.) Which are the worst?

Thanks!

2. MOW ED

MOW ED LawnSite Fanatic

3. carcrz

carcrz LawnSite Silver Member

I'm the same as Ed - applications, lawn renovations, then clean-ups. But really, all of my mulch applications I end up doing pretty good on. At least the larger projects anyways.

4. rotagilla

rotagilla LawnSite Member

Mulching, planting, weeding, clean-ups, etc..
    Pretty much any service where I provide the labor and the customer pays for the materials. I get a mark-up on the material plus my labor rate combined with little or no overhead.

5. mojob

mojob LawnSite Senior Member

For those who provide this service, I'd have to say residential snow removal is the worst. I've come to the conclusion that people just don't want to pay for this necessary evil. This will be my first and last season offering this service. I will continue doing it for my really good customers, but I won't take on any more. Now on the other hand, commercial snow removal is where it's at. Spring and fall would be a good time to promote aerations and sprinkler blowouts. Good money in both.

6. kieferslawn

kieferslawn LawnSite Member