Which method of leaf loading would you do?

Discussion in 'General Industry Discussions' started by kc2006, Oct 12, 2005.

1. kc2006

kc2006 LawnSite Silver Member

Ok, I'm just trying to decide what the heck to do here and looking for advice from others.

This is concerning leaf removal. It is my first year on my own so equipment is limited, I have a 5hp loader from a trac vac system for a walkbehind, I remember talking to a couple people on the board here that said they used the little loaders as truck loaders, slow but they worked they said.

I'm just wondering what you guys would do in this situation. Should I A) just put the trac vac on my 48" walkbehind. Or should I B) Put it on the truck?

If i use it on the walkbehind I'll end up blowing the leaves into a pile and just run the mower through it and use the mower to pick the leaves up. Only downfall is the 55 gallon drum fills up fast so I'd have to keep dumping the barrel in the truck. Which sounds like such an inconvience to me since i'm used to using big loaders and all that easy stuff :p

What would you guys use? Getting the leaves to the piles isn't a problem, i'm covered on blowers. Just not sure which way would be best to get them to the truck. Oh and I have a leaf box on the truck, the back swings open so i'd be able to get in & out ok if I had to.

2. Surfside

Surfside LawnSite Member

Billy goat vac into boxed dumptruck blow wind rows then collect with tarp the bulk of the leaves. then clean up with mower.

3. kc2006

Ok but your missing the point. The original question was, which would be more benefitial use of the small loader? Being thats all I have at the moment. Next year I will have a large loader with an actual dump truck, but for this year I'm goin stealth mode :laugh:

4. Cigarcop

Cigarcop LawnSite Member