Which String Trimmer To Buy?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Cornbuds, Mar 15, 2005.

1. Cornbuds

Cornbuds LawnSite Member

Hi all. I'm not a professional yard care person, just a homeowner, but there seems to be a wealth of knowledge from the experts here, so I'd like to run a question by you all.

I'm looking for an all-in-one tool for lawn trimming, tree pruning and edging and have narrowed the field down to the Echo SRM-210SB and the Tanaka TBC-250SF. (Tanaka doesn't have the split shaft on their website, but this link is the same model without the split shaft). I physically inspected both at a local shop and both seem to be very well made. The Tanaka has a little more power and seems to be more of a commercial build, whereas the Echo seems to be geared more to the homeowner, however the Tanaka and it's accessories are a little more expensive. I like the split shaft design because both manufacturers have the extra accessories I'm looking for such as the edger and tree pruner.

This is only going to be used for my personal residence, which is not on a large lot - it's just a tract home. Any suggestions on which one to go with would be greatly appreciated.

Also, does anyone think I'm going overkill with the Echo or Tanaka? Should I just get a lower end model from Toro or MTD from a big-box store for around half the price, considering this is just for my own home?

Thanks again for any guidance you can provide! :)

2. all degree

all degree LawnSite Senior Member

Go with the Tanaka out of those two. You may also want to check out Stihl. I would buy commercial if possible becuase as a homeowner it will last you a lifetime so $400 bucks over 15 years isnt so bad.

3. MMLawn

MMLawn LawnSite Gold Member

You're going to get as many different opinions as if you ahd ask a Ford or a Chevy? :)