Which Walk Behind for Small Resedential

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by jklawns, Dec 2, 2007.

1. jklawns

jklawns LawnSite Member

Which Walk Behinds do you guys use for smaller(under 1/4 acre) resedential yards. Do you mulch, bag, or discharge? Which one leaves the best result? (cut,stripe,tracks)
    Thanks for the input:)

2. cutemhigh

cutemhigh LawnSite Member
    from 44060

i would look to use a 36 bunton hydro. I really like the buntons. i would use the catcher.

3. DLAWNS

DLAWNS LawnSite Fanatic

I would suggest an Exmark, possibly a 48". I do a lot of smaller residentials and I have a 52" Toro Z Master and a 32" Exmark. I love both of them. If you're looking for 1 walk-behind a 48" is probably your best bet.

4. DLAWNS

DLAWNS LawnSite Fanatic

Forgot to mention the hydro is definitely worth it.

5. br549oicu8

br549oicu8 LawnSite Bronze Member

The Wright Velke walk-behind has been the most reliable small (36) mower we have used over the past 26 years. I would definitely buy another one.

6. coonman

coonman LawnSite Senior Member

48 inch on a small residential less than a 1/4 acre? Must be nice not to have any gates. I see that that JKLAWNS is from Tulsa also.
    All my properties are gated with lots of obstacles, I use 21inch Toro Proline mulchers. I am thinking about trying the Quick 32 next year just for a little extra power, especially during heavy growth in the Spring. If you have the same gated small lawns as I do, anything larger than a 32 would be a waste and would not get through most gates.

7. topsites

topsites LawnSite Fanatic

With a $30 minimum I don't have a problem with too many small lots, I use the Toro 48" for most everything up to an acre, don't own nothing smaller, don't want to either lol.

8. corey4671

corey4671 LawnSite Silver Member