Who cuts right threw leafs? Or you switch to bagging?

Discussion in 'Landscape Maintenance' started by youryardbarbourllc, Sep 30, 2010.

1. youryardbarbourllc

youryardbarbourllc LawnSite Member
    from nj

I have been mowing and cleaning leafs for 4 years now. I was part time, this year i went to pull time and i notice some LCO's by me showing up to the properties and blowing leafs before they start cutting? I normally just cut threw the leafs till the grass stops growing and then i take care of my fall clean up.

Do any of you guys blow leafs every week when you show up? You add that time into your fall clean up price? I normally dont find out till sept. billing if i am doing a fall clean up for them or not. Thanks for the help!

2. 93Chevy

93Chevy LawnSite Fanatic

Depends on the customer. If somebody just wants the majority collected every week, then I usually go over the lawn twice with the catcher system. If they want a full cleanup every week, then that's what they get. It's their call.

3. Ole grass cutter

Ole grass cutter LawnSite Member
    from FL

Don't own a bagger and haven't bagged in over 20 years now. Most commercial ztr's (iuse Toros) will mulch up leaves great if you back over them then pull forward it may take two times but a whole lot faster then bagging. Not sure about y'alls grass but down in FL it has worked great for many years. Some times you might have to rake a few up but very seldom.

4. Roger

Roger LawnSite Fanatic

Leaves on our properties have begun to fall, too many to ignore, but not enough to do full-scale leaf cleanup.

On many properties the past week, I've been using my ZTR, or w/b, whichever I am using, to bring them together in an area. I don't make a tight windrow, or tight circle, but enough to produce a good cover. Then I use my hand mower (Toro Proline, with Gator blade, or Honda HRX217) to mulch them down. Sometimes I need two passes. Then I make another pass across with the ZTR, or w/b to scatter the chips.