Who likes their gear drive?

Discussion in 'eXmark' started by petemoss, May 5, 2002.

1. petemoss

petemoss LawnSite Member

I have been cutting grass for several years using only 21" mowers. I have been looking into upgrading to a bigger machine and am trying to decide between hydro and gear drive for a first machine. I have been talking with my eXmark dealer about a 36" Viking with fixed deck and hydro or a 36" Metro with fixed deck and gear drive. His opinion is that the hydro is well worth the extra money and he wouldn't own a gear drive. He doesn't work on commission so I trust what he is telling me. Everyone else that I have talked to has the same opinion on hydro vs. gear drive. I was wondering if there are still alot of people who purchase the gear drive eXmark models and are happy with them, or do they wish that they had went ahead and purchased the hydro.

2. Russo

Russo LawnSite Senior Member

Yes to both questions. I LOVE my 48" belt drive eXmark. It's about 8 years old and was used for home cutting. Guy was in a divorce and let it go for $ 500. To me it's worth 3 times as much.

If I didn't fall into that sweet deal, I would have got a hydro. You can't beat 'em for hills, zero turning, and pulling a velke just to name a few.

So......Love my gear drive, would prefer a hydro.

3. Richard Martin

Richard Martin LawnSite Fanatic