Whole bunch of questions from the new guy....

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by Jon99, Dec 16, 2002.

1. Jon99

Jon99 LawnSite Senior Member

Starting up a business in the spring, have already bought a trailer, mower, trimmer etc this fall...

1. Can I take these deductions on the 2002 year even though there was no income from the business????

2. What do I, as a new sole prop., need to file with the IRS??? Do I need a tax ID???

Any other info regarding setting up a business for tax purposes would be deeply appreciated, even though I have an MBA, the tax part of the business is leaving me clueless....

Thanks

2. walker-talker

walker-talker LawnSite Platinum Member
    from Midwest

I would use those deductions off your 2003 income. I used my social security # as my tax ID #.

MATT

3. Jon99

Jon99 LawnSite Senior Member

Thanks... So even though I purchased the equipment in 2002 I can dedeuct it in 2003???? My reasoning for wanting to deduct in 2002 was because with me working full time our income will probably be higher in 2002 than in 2003...

4. MOW ED

MOW ED LawnSite Fanatic

MBA or not, I would secure a decent accountant that deals with small business. My accountant is great, even though I have to pay him, he has actually made me more money by knowing the answers to questions and knowing the tax laws.

I actually look forward to seeing him because I learn something every time. I am a small lco like you (me and my wife), it works for us. Good Luck

5. GroundKprs

GroundKprs LawnSite Bronze Member

Suggestion on accountant is the best you'll get. Especially since you are not versed in self employment taxes. Get to one SOON, so you can manage your business properly from the beginning.

For a little assurance, equipment cannot be expensed until it is put in service, as far as federal taxes are concerned.

6. stslawncare

stslawncare LawnSite Bronze Member
    from DE