Why are customers so obsessed with rolling?

Discussion in 'Turf Renovation' started by sulston, Apr 27, 2007.

1. sulston

sulston LawnSite Member

OK so this isn't the first time I've posted here about lawn rolling. Previously it was to do with a customer with a bumpy lawn wanting it rolled but I wont go into that. This situation involves a lawn which has some skunk damage and they want it fixed. I was planning on raking it up good to get all the crap out of there then topdressing and overseeding. I've done this in the past and usually just drag a landscape rake over the area I've seeded to get a little better seed to soil contact(I'm just spreading the seed with spreader not an actual machine). So anyway this customer keeps telling me it needs to be rolled also. Do any of you guys roll after you spread the seed to increase that seed/soil contact, does this work better? I've never done it before but I'm pretty sure I've heard talk of it on here before but not quite sure. Can't find anything about it. I appreciate any advice.

2. cantoo

cantoo LawnSite Silver Member

sulston, it's pretty much a standard here too. We use a real light roller to press the seed into the soil. Some guys use a heavy roller but that leads to ridges and it creates more problems. It also helps to keep moisture in the soil. No one uses straw around here so a light packing helps.
    If you are overseeding into grass I would use my heavier roller to keep the worked up area level with the existing grass.

3. sulston

sulston LawnSite Member