Why do I need a hydro walkbehind?!?!

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by 2k1yzfr1, Sep 23, 2004.

1. 2k1yzfr1

2k1yzfr1 LawnSite Senior Member

I've been mowing with belt drive 36" mowers for the past 5 years, but keep reading on here and everyone makes it sound like hydros are a gift from god. I've never seen the point in spending $4000 on something I am going to walkbehind when a $2500 belt drive does great. In my eyes if I am going to spend $4000-5000 on a mower I would spend a couple grand more and get one with a nice seat with arm rests.
    A few weeks ago I got the chance to try out a older 48" scag ultimate hydro and absolutely hated it. The hydros were really jumpy and just felt really "different" compared to my other mowers. I'm assuming not all hydros are like this from all the post on here talking about how great a hydro walk behind is. In the smaller 48" and less sized mowers what is the advantage of a hydro?? I've never had to use reverse just because of how light a 36" mower is and being 6'4" 250 I don't have a problem manuvering the mower around.
    Anyways I went to my dealer today thinking about getting rid of my 36" side discharge scag and replacing it with a 44" mower of some sort. Since I have a 52" Z500 as my main mower I don't think I want to spend another 5000-6000 on a 44" Z, so that leaves me with a Gravely belt drive fixed deck for about $2500 or a toro sfs floating belt for $3500. The easy height of cut adjustment of the floater doesn't matter since we cut at 3" or 3.25".

Alright now that all these thoughts that have been going through my head are out in the open what do y'all think I should do??
  2. MJLsLawnCareNmoreLLC

MJLsLawnCareNmoreLLC LawnSite Senior Member