Why Do I need a license and insurance?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Shawnhines, Oct 14, 2006.

1. Shawnhines

Shawnhines LawnSite Member

I am just starting out, and I am seeing that a lot of people are licensed and insured. What license do I need? (business??) What insurance do I need and why?

Thanks for any input.
    Shawn Hines

2. huh

huh LawnSite Senior Member
    from Lubbock

You need a business license so that you can open an account and deposit money and pay the proper taxes

And yes sure you can just go down to the bank and put all your cash in your personal account, but after a while (especially if you take a lot of cash payments) the feds will get a detail of your account and think you are selling weed and not mowing lawns and come check you out

So then you will have to drag the feds around to all the peeps whose houses you mowed to have them say yes he mows grass…not deals it

Then the feds will say ok you are a mower not a dealer, but you do not have a business license so you must have cheated on your taxes and you surely did not send your estimated taxes in quarterly and therefor you owe us a chitload of taxes and penalties so then they will see how much cash is in your account and say that looks about right and take it….then just to kick you when you are down they will take your best mower too....so then you are like man no mower this sucks Im just gonna start selling swag on the side to get a new mower and you get busted and end up in jail :(