Why eXmark?

Discussion in 'eXmark' started by mrac, Nov 28, 2005.

1. mrac

mrac LawnSite Member
    from 06032

I'm a newbie to this board, and have a question for you folks. I have been shopping around for a new mower. I currently use a 21" Honda for my lawn which is just under an acre. My primary needs are to cut down the time it takes (currently 2.5 hours), improved quality of cut, and limited mntce.

I have used my neighbors 48" Scag belt and was obviously impressed in every regard. In my area, I have visited dealers for Scag, Exmark, Bobcat, Hustler, and Ferris. All of them appeared to be very knowledgeable and have service depts that were very reputable.

For the most part, I will be using my new unit for my own property, and occasionally for friends/neighbors, etc.

Exmark is very popular in this area with the local landscapers. While I do not plan on using my unit to the degree that they do, I obviously want something that will be durable, easy to use, and last a long time.

So, any suggestions for a walk behind???

Thanks to all!

2. Travis Followell

Travis Followell LawnSite Silver Member
    from KY

Get a ztr. A lot more fun to use, you'll get done faster, and you get to ride instead of walk or stand on a sulky. It would be more money but well worth it in my opinion.

3. mcwlandscaping

mcwlandscaping LawnSite Gold Member

For only under and acre though, the regular maintenance and the overall greater cost of it would be too much and not worth it for that small of a property IMO. I would find a 48-52" WB Hydro and floating deck, put a double wheel sulky on it and youll be set. eXmark TTHP would probably work great in your application. Good luck. Just my .02

4. Envy Lawn Service

Envy Lawn Service LawnSite Fanatic