1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Why I do this for a living...Kids love the Hustler Z

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by captken, Apr 15, 2004.

1. captken

captken LawnSite Bronze Member

I provide a service for high end residential clientel...that being said, I am kind of an adopted member of many families. Kids are always a sweet spot for me....

I called a client to let them know I'd be coming by. The child answered the phone...the first mow of the year...was all excited..."when are you coming" etc.

He usually stands far away, looking at my mower work, however this time he and his buddy had this popsickle stand set up....with the family dog.

I got a free popsickle and a smile plus this picture for doing some spiraling down the driveway...

This made my day.

memphis kids.jpg
  2. tiedeman

tiedeman LawnSite Fanatic
    from earth

thats a good story.
  3. EastProLawn

EastProLawn LawnSite Bronze Member

That's good stuff, once in a while you need kids to remind you not to take life so seriously:D
  4. ElephantNest

ElephantNest LawnSite Bronze Member
    from La.

Do those kids have a license to sell popsicles?? SCRUBS!!

JK, great post.
  5. Blades of Steel

Blades of Steel LawnSite Senior Member

That's cool. The kids like the Z and you like the popsicle. Nice trade off or did they get you for a dollar?

P.S. Nice to see someone from the neighborhood!
  6. captken

I could not resist....being their first customer....that made my day, yesterday. kenny.
  7. tiedeman

tiedeman LawnSite Fanatic
    from earth

are they pulling in $1 a minute with those popsicles?

I hope that they charged you a disposal charge for taking care of the wrapper and stick

What about the electric bill to freeze those pops?

Man, they must have a huge overhead.