1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Why rate engines by horsepower?

Discussion in 'Tractors' started by palmtree, May 23, 2005.

1. palmtree

palmtree LawnSite Member

I am confused. Why do they even give horsepower ratings on mowers? Torque must be more important. If it isn't torque then it is something else. I have been mowing with a Craftsman garden tractor for the past 5 years. I don't like it and I am buying a Grasshopper (that is beside the point). My Craftsman has a 22HP Kohler pro engine with 46 inch deck and it has always run fine--never let me down in 5 years. However, when I need to pick up leaves I use my Father-in-laws John Deere 455 with a 21HP diesel and 60 inch deck. Let me tell you it doesn't just have a little more power than my 22HP Kohler--it has an amazing amount more. And even with a much bigger deck. I guess it is torque that makes the difference. Even still, torque values can't be that different can they? Aren't horsepower numbers derived from torque values? Thanks for shedding light.
  2. Lumberjack

Lumberjack LawnSite Member

Torque changes as engine speed changes.... People generally understand horsepower more then torque specs....
  3. BCSteel

BCSteel LawnSite Senior Member

I you look at the spec sheets of Kawi, kohler etc. on numerous engines rated at different hp they have the same torque ratings, and same displacment. How is this possable? And why would you want to spend the extra $$ on a higher hp engine that has the same torque as a lower hp engine? BTW these are all gas carb'd engines.
  4. betterlawn

betterlawn LawnSite Senior Member
    from MI