Why skid steers over tractors?

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by 4 seasons lawn&land, Apr 22, 2008.

1. 4 seasons lawn&land

4 seasons lawn&land LawnSite Gold Member
    from NY

Im new to Lawn care and spend most of my time in that forum but I'd like to get into landscaping eventually. Im just curious what the point of skid steers are when tractors are less money, why is that anyway?
  2. Mark Bogart

Mark Bogart LawnSite Member

Skid Steers are more maneuverable in tight situations plus you can lift more weight. You also have more control with a skid steer.
  3. shovelracer

shovelracer LawnSite Silver Member

2 different machines. For starters SSL's are more powerful, can lift higher, can lift more, run 50 attachments, and handle rough terrain. A tractor loader of the same weight cant even compare to a SSL. They can however tow and are less abusive to the terrain they travel over.
  4. merrimacmill

merrimacmill LawnSite Senior Member

They both have their place. Theres stuff both do better than the other. A tractor is nice to have, but for an "only machine" for hardscaping I imagine a skid loader would be a little more versitile.

I have a tractor and find it very useful. I can put a landscape rake on the back and have a loader with a bucket on the front, then use both to spread dirt. This can't be done with a skid loader. Or I can have a salt spreader on the back, a loader with a bucket on the front for snow.

IMO neither is better than the other, but it just all depends on what your uses are.
  5. AGLA

AGLA LawnSite Bronze Member

I worked for a landscaper out west (Idaho) who had the same thought of getting more for less by buying a tractor. It sucked for anything other than wide open spaces and loading.