Why use a 21"?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by Champion Lawn & Landscape, Aug 31, 2007.

1. Champion Lawn & Landscape

Champion Lawn & Landscape LawnSite Member

I'm relatively new in the business and I haven't yet figured out why lawn care companies still use a 21" push mower. I see them on trailers of other companies all day long. Am I naive to think that I can get everything done with at least a 36" walk behind, or have I just not come across the account that required the 21"? How many people just pass on the account that requires the 21"? Also, what is an example of when the only mower that will do the job is a 21"? Thanks

2. ltw77

ltw77 LawnSite Member

There are only a few excuses I can think of for the 21" mower. Long ditch lines that you don't want to use a trimmer on, or a residential that has severe slopes or a problem with drainage where a heavier mower would do more harm than good. That's about it, unless of coarse the customer just wants it done that way.

3. freshlycut

freshlycut LawnSite Member

Think in terms of emergency back-up. And those really hard to reach places.

4. Stillwater

Stillwater LawnSite Platinum Member

becouse of a gate that has a opening of only 22 inches or narrow strips where a larger mower will not do a good job

5. Vikings

Vikings LawnSite Bronze Member
    from canada

I bought a toro 36 and I like it but I stopped trying to use it on every yard. Most of mine are around the 5-10k range and it won't fit in most of their gates anyway.

I only use it for large open yards where it fits but even if it fits on a small front yard, I went back to using the 21 because it's almost as fast (objects) and looks MUCH better.

On the large and very large yards, it's essential but I still had to watch it. I damage the lawn on one large yard. It was dry and hot, I left tire marks all over. Heavy machines.