Why Wright over Great Dane ? Is there a major difference ?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Turf Dancer, Sep 3, 2002.

1. Turf Dancer

Turf Dancer LawnSite Senior Member

The question I have is why are so many people more towards wright than Great dane ? I have had a demo on three Danes and the salesman came 210 miles to bring these machines for a one man show to demo. I can't seem to get any other dealers that are closer to demo anything . I thought the danes seemed like a great machine other than the scamper that I tested was kind of different as far as the controls on a walk behind. I am new to the big boy toys and I want to make the right choice the first time. I would like to if possible buy my machines from the guy I have been dealing with that did the dane demo , they also sell other machines as well : Dane, Honda, Bobcat,Ferris,Toro, Cub Cadet Pro, and I think one other. I have also heard alot about the Exmarks on here ? not sure about them
  2. AL Inc

AL Inc LawnSite Bronze Member

TD-I own a Stander and don't know why people favor one over the other. I've said it before- go with the machine from a dealer you know and trust. Someone to stand behind the machine and possibly fix it while you wait. Personally, I have a great dealer and will buy the equipment lines that they sell. I don't look anywhere else. I don't care about saving a few hundred on a machine, I can lose that money in one day if a machine goes down and can't be fixed quickly. Mike
  3. KLMlawn

KLMlawn LawnSite Senior Member

I also, have Wright Standers and have experience with Exmark too. There is a certain element of valididty in what AL Inc. says regarding doing busing with a dealer you are comfortable with, OR at least having a shop close by that you do business with often enough that would drop everything to help you, whether you purchased that particular machine there or not.