Wife's best friend has a tree problem...

Discussion in 'Landscape Architecture and Design' started by mcclureandson, Dec 7, 2004.

1. mcclureandson

mcclureandson LawnSite Member

The problem is her husband is a self-proclaimed 'Arborist", living in S.C. She's eight months pregnant and he says he can't work when it rains, when it might rain or a day or two after it rains because it's too dangerous. I make my living with a large maintenance base, a couple of installs each month and half a dozen walls each year...but know enough about tree work to be suspicious. Of course you cant' top a tree in a downpour, but how do established, professional companies cope with inclement weather? Couldn't he schedule more work at ground level following a storm? Use a cherry-picker if the trees were still wet, etc.? If I was in his situation I would supplement with stump grinding, get things down before/after bad weather for bucking or investigate my equipment options more fullly...I mean, aren't there plenty of tree companies in Seattle????

2. SodKing

SodKing LawnSite Bronze Member

Quit beating around the bush ;) and just call him a free-loadin' SOB

3. GrazerZ

GrazerZ LawnSite Senior Member

here in 1998 we had a huge ice storm that downed alot of trees, I mean alot. tree guys were making a killing cutting and doing tree work. they didn't seem to mind the freezing rain or the ice all around. just my two cents...

4. Wolfie's L&L

Wolfie's L&L LawnSite Member

Theres probably a wealth of info about this subject on LawnSite's sister site-Arboristsite.com! Just a hint...

Jason

5. Green Dreams

Green Dreams LawnSite Senior Member
    from Texas

sounds like a scrub to me....

6. kris

kris LawnSite Bronze Member
    from nowhere

Sounds like he's hot after his wifes best friend to me! ;)

you know the type guys .... oh i'll take care of you...I know your husbands a bum. lol

7. Coffeecraver

Coffeecraver LawnSite Senior Member
    from VA.