Will a kawasaki 27 hp water cooled fit on my turf tiger that came with a kohler 25 hp

Discussion in 'Mechanic and Repair' started by saleen1996, Feb 26, 2013.

  1. saleen1996

    saleen1996 LawnSite Member
    from Atlanta
    Posts: 16

    Will a kawasaki 27 hp water cooled fit on my turf tiger that came with a kohler 25 hp air cooled? Reason Im asking the kohler blew up and found a new kawasaki motor cheaper. Any advise on what motor to repower the mower with and best place to buy one is appreciated! Exploring all options before I buy a engine. Thanks
    Posted via Mobile Device
     
  2. Landrus2

    Landrus2 LawnSite Platinum Member
    Posts: 4,812

    That will require lots of fabrication to make it work:waving:
     
  3. Landrus2

    Landrus2 LawnSite Platinum Member
    Posts: 4,812

  4. djagusch

    djagusch LawnSite Platinum Member
    from MN
    Posts: 4,225

    what year tt, better yet what does the s/n start with?

    A new harness is less than $200. Make sure engine comes with the radiator and fuel pump.
    Posted via Mobile Device
     
  5. saleen1996

    saleen1996 LawnSite Member
    from Atlanta
    Posts: 16

    I will get the s/n I can't remember it. It comes with radiator. I will also check on the fuel pump as well. I couldn't find the Deminsions of the engine anywhere.
    Posted via Mobile Device
     
  6. saleen1996

    saleen1996 LawnSite Member
    from Atlanta
    Posts: 16

    The S/N is 7730646 sorry it took so long to get back with it
    Posted via Mobile Device
     
  7. djagusch

    djagusch LawnSite Platinum Member
    from MN
    Posts: 4,225

    I would print out the parts list from scag's website for the year. See whats different. It's a 2002 model and did come with a 27" Kawi option. So I would say wire harness, check pulley sizes, temp gauge, maybe a mount plate. Got a big snow storm coming tonight so I can't do the leg work there but it's simple to check out.
     
  8. saleen1996

    saleen1996 LawnSite Member
    from Atlanta
    Posts: 16

    Thanks for all the help! I will check and see what all I need! The mount plate for gauge is already there and cut out for the temp.
    Posted via Mobile Device
     
  9. djagusch

    djagusch LawnSite Platinum Member
    from MN
    Posts: 4,225

    For some reason I think there is different mount plates for the engine but I could be wrong. Could be spacers etc, IDK.
     
  10. saleen1996

    saleen1996 LawnSite Member
    from Atlanta
    Posts: 16

    Oh I was talking about the mounting plate for the gauges. I will check on that too. What would you repower the mower with?
    Posted via Mobile Device
     

Share This Page