Will I be a joke?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by CF Lawn Care, Jan 20, 2008.

1. CF Lawn Care

CF Lawn Care LawnSite Member

I am just starting out in the lawn care business and plan on getting a push mower, trimmer and blower. I don't want to invest in commercial equipment because i don't know if my business will succeed. I plan on buying all brand new medium quality equipment. I have a small 2 door 4 cylinder car that i will have to pull a trailer with to fit all of my equipment. Do you think that this is so unprofessional that my clients will think I am a joke and not hire me? Won’t this first impression of my business hurt the amount I can charge to cut a yard?

2. bigw

bigw LawnSite Bronze Member

please dont tow a trailer with your car...yes you will look rediculous,buy a cheap truck if you want to look even alittle bit serious!!

3. ncls

ncls LawnSite Senior Member

that might just be the angle to get a lot of customers. Advertise how enviro friendly you are. No wasting gas, etc. :rolleyes:

4. Grits

Grits LawnSite Silver Member
    from Florida

Don't waste your money on crap equipment. At least get entry level commercial. For example you can get an Echo 210 trimmer for $200. If you buy homeowner equipment, you might as well throw your money out the window. I am speaking from experience. When I started I bought top of the line homeowner trimmer and edger. They didn't last but maybe 2 months (and around 10 accounts)before I had problems and had to repair. About 2 weeks after that both of them quit and that is when I went to top of the line commercial handhelds. I spent about $200 a piece for the good homeowner trimmer and edger, only to throw them away after a couple months. Then I spent about $700 on a trimmer and edger they are both still running like new. Do what you have to do, but I hate to see someone lose money. Yes, it will be a little more up front, but in the long run it will be cheaper.

5. M&SLawnCare