winter lay-offs...PLEASE ADVISE!!!!

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by lakegastonla, Dec 3, 2000.

1. lakegastonla

lakegastonla LawnSite Senior Member

Do you guys lay off your help in the winter months? I am finding it harder to justify paying help during this time. I am a small operator. I have a full time job and pay someone else to maintain accounts during the week. On the weekends I can do the work. I don't want to let him go because I hate to do that to him, also I don't think he would be back next year to help. Yet at the same time, it is putting a STRAIN on me now. What to do?? Are you a single operator or do you have help?? How do you utilize your help in the slow winter months?

2. Green Acres

Green Acres LawnSite Senior Member

We ask our customers if there is anything else they need done besides lawn care. For example we have been doing some tree removal/trimming, gutter cleaning, retaining walls, etc. For one customer we are going to tear down an old shed for him. The money might not be as good as in the summer but it helps.

3. Hello everybody:

I see you live in NC. Is all your contracts year round or what?

It's to hard to answer & It's none of my business.

I kept my guys during the winter & they only had about half the work to do. But we had mainly year rounders & a very few callers when they need ya. I did seek extra work in the winter & it helped out a lot.

I made a lot more money in the winter, than summer & it was easy to keep them. They worked like dogs for me in the summer & if it wasn't for them I would not have been on easy street during winter. That's why they worked so hard.

If you can't keep him, you can't keep him. Your family come first & then you, then everybody else.

It's a tuff call & hard to make. I've been there & done that. Family always comes first. But Money is not everything either?