Winter Money

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by howardsells2000, Aug 26, 2006.

1. howardsells2000

howardsells2000 LawnSite Senior Member

I have heard it mentioned many times on this site. I have been trying save my winter money. It's tough.

Some of you guys were saying you already had your winter money saved in June or July. I'm wondering how can you save that much so quick. I'm figuring either you don't need very much money or you have working spouses or winter jobs. I work and live alone. This is my only job. This is my first year only doing lawn care. I figure I will need at least $10,000.00 to get through the winter. That is at least what I will need, probably will need about $15,000.00. I have almost half of that saved. Then the grass has stopped growing around here and I'm skipping lots of lawns because they are not growing. I know things will improve as soon as we get some rain but I'm doubting I will have 10 - 15 thousand saved by then. I might have to get a winter job. I really don't know.

What I'm wondering is how much money do the rest of you need for the winter and how do you save it?
  2. 1MajorTom

1MajorTom Senior Moderator

winter for us consists of 4 months, dec, jan, feb, and mar. we save $3,000 per month starting in april for 7 months. when I say "saved", i mean money for winter to live on, $3,000 is not just what we are saving per month, obviously we need to plan for retirement, etc.