Winterizer App. Help In Indiana

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by GravelyGuy, Oct 30, 2007.

1. GravelyGuy

GravelyGuy LawnSite Silver Member
    from Indiana

I just finished up my fourth round of applications October 7. I am on a five application plan so my next one is the "winterizer" app. of 46-0-0. I plan on putting down around 2 lbs. per thousand to get about 1 lb. of nitrogen per thousand.

The last two nights we had a frost and freeze so the grass should start to really slow down, almost entirely stop for some. When should I start my last application. I was planning on mid November, but I am new at this. I have heard some people say put it down right after the grass goes dormant and some say right before.

They are talking snow flakes some time in the next week or two, but I was hoping for some rain because I have 4 more large aerations I need to get done and the ground may not be wet enough now to get solid plugs.

Thanks for the help.

2. MStine315

MStine315 LawnSite Senior Member

I'm starting my winterizers (round 5's) tommorow. We were mowing pretty steady up until this week, but everything's come to a noticable slow down. There's still growth, but not like last week. I wouldn't be afraid of starting anytime now, depending on how many you have to do. If you only have a week's worth, then you may want to wait a week or two, but if you have three or four weeks worth, time's running short to squeeze it in.

3. GravelyGuy

from Indiana

Okay thanks. Same situation here on the growth. Fortunately I only have around 20 accounts so I will be able to get them all done in 2 or 3 days:laugh: I am happy to be done with the spraying for now. I would kill to have a PG or skid sprayer, but the amount of work I have just doesn't warrant one. Once I hit around 35 accounts I am going to get one though. Probably next spring.

4. indyturf

indyturf LawnSite Bronze Member
    from Indy