1. Missed the live Ask the Expert event?
    Not to worry. Check out the archived thread of the Q&A with Ken Hutcheson, President of U.S. Lawns, and the LawnSite community in the Franchising forum .

Dismiss Notice

Winterizing mowers???

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by DoetschOutdoor, Nov 13, 2006.

1. DoetschOutdoor

DoetschOutdoor LawnSite Bronze Member
    from S. IL

My three mowers will be kept in my enclosed trailer this winter since I have no room in the garage. Is there anything that I should do to prepare them for the cold? The winters here dont get too bad although the trailer seems to not keep the cold out very well...this is my first time not being able to store indoors so I would appreciate any help on the issue.
  2. TNT Lawncare

TNT Lawncare LawnSite Senior Member

I run some Seafoam with the gas the last time I run the mower. Not only is it a fuel stabilizer, but it also cleans everything. It is great stuff. Also, a battery tender doesn't hurt so in April when you go to start your mowers, you won't have a dead battery.
  3. Curtis

Curtis LawnSite Member

I've heard alot of good things about that Seafoam . I would also take the plug out and squirt a few drops of oil in the hole since you keep them outside . Wouldn't hurt to fill the tanks up to keep the condensation down .
  4. causalitist

causalitist LawnSite Senior Member

i use "stabil" in the fuel. its probably similar to seafoam.
    i also use engine fogging oil.. spray it in the cylinder and turn it over a few times with the plug out, then put the plug in. alot of wear is caused by a piston just sitting in one spot all winter with condensation and then starting it right up... this ensures that the piston etc will be clean and lubbed when you first turn it over after sitting forever.
  5. MOW ED

MOW ED LawnSite Fanatic