winterizing sprinkler systems

Discussion in 'Irrigation' started by ParksLandscaping, Oct 3, 2005.

1. ParksLandscaping

ParksLandscaping LawnSite Member

I am new at the irrigation business and have always subcontracted out my winterizations. However this year I am going to attempt to do them myself. I am in the process of trying to purchase a gas powered air compressor. What size to I need and what can you suggest for a 1st timer?

Thanks

David A. Parks

2. BSME

BSME LawnSite Senior Member
    from Midwest

Since I'm from your area I suggest subcontracting them out... to me

if not... to do it right you'll want a tow behind compressor... I've used a 10hp compressor mounted in the truck in the past but I needed to buy a 185cfm tow behind...

if you aren't going to do too many it'd probably be in your best interest to go down to Chet's and rent a tow behind... They're like $400 a week so if you can line them all up it shouldn't be that bad... they'll make you give them a deposit though since they would probably have to find one for you... I talked to them the other day and they have about 40 in their lot now but they are all spoken for...

3. Wet_Boots

Wet_Boots LawnSite Fanatic

Search the word "compressor" for lots of discussion on the topic. If winterizing can't be organized into a neat time window, a truck-mounted compressor will be more useful than a rented tow-behind. You want to look towards getting a tow-behind of your own.

4. jcom

jcom LawnSite Senior Member

I bought a new compressor for $1500.00 three years ago. A Dewalt with a 8 h.p. Honda. 19 cfm. I couldn't be happier with any tool I have bought. Paid for itself the first year. I needed a compressor that I could use on a moments notice and not have to rely on someone else.

Sets in the pickup box and will handle all the 1" stuff and some of the 1 1/2 depending on length of runs. I have only run into one I did not have the capacity for.

Good luck,

John

5. Mdirrigation