Working for Scott's Lawn Care

Discussion in 'Pesticide & Herbicide Application' started by NewToLawnCare, Mar 4, 2008.

1. NewToLawnCare

NewToLawnCare LawnSite Member

Hey I posted this in the Commercial section and somebody suggested I try posting in this section.

Hey guys,

I am extremely new to the lawn care industry. I am 21 and have been working behind a computer for 3 years and I can't take it anymore. I am to much of a people person who loves to be outside to work in an office all day. Well I applied for a lawn care technician job with Scott's and was wondering if anybody has any input about the company. (Good pay, experience, etc)

My goal is to get all my lawn care and fertilization experience with that company and one day start my own lawn care business. Thanks for any input. Again, I am a compete rookie so any advice would help. I live in Columbus, OHIO also. Thanks.

2. PSUTURFGEEK

PSUTURFGEEK LawnSite Senior Member

Really nothing is wrong with that, alot of people in this business take that route, go to a big company and see if it's for you, get licensed and get experience and learn as much as you can because you really will see anything and everything and your'e not always gonna agree with what they do but use them for what it's worth and leave.

3. The Lawn Crew

The Lawn Crew LawnSite Member

Scott's is a first rate company to work for. They pay well, don't abuse their employees, give you the best equipment in the industry, they have good trucks with a/c and don't have a "quota" for "production".

They are in no way related to the "other" company in just about anything they do. They are far superior.

If you want to work for a company, they would be the best choice.

Good luck!

4. LushGreenLawn

LushGreenLawn LawnSite Silver Member