Working in Texas

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Limeade, Sep 13, 2005.

1. Limeade

Limeade LawnSite Member
    from Houston

Hey guys I was wondering what the cutting season is for Texas? More specifically Houston? It seems like I could cut grass atleast 10 months out of the year.

Also I know you guys can't give me a going rate, as there is none, and most would suggest to call around. But I am looking for ball park, I hear people saying they charge 40 a lawn, but is that up north where cost of living is higher? Because her in Houston I think it would be "good" to get 30, am I aiming to low? I also know there is a starters page, but I am looking for veteran advice, and right now there happens to be more people looking at this page.
  2. twj721

twj721 LawnSite Senior Member

I am a solo operator and I charge per hr my min charge is 35.00 I am trying to maintain a $25.00 per hr charge I know it sounds low and in some places it is but there are too many people with walmrt mowers on trailer and in the back of their pickup trucks the local tax assesor is starting to crack down on them. it is now a law that any equipment that you use to produce income with is now classified as taxable personal property so you get hit with personal property tax on your equipment
  3. lawn_jockey

lawn_jockey LawnSite Member

4. dcplace2004

dcplace2004 LawnSite Senior Member

Texas, but will refrain from saying it...I used to live their and my brother keeps me updated about the goings on there...let's just say that certain people are doing lawns dirt cheap and messing it up for other LCOs...Need I say more...

LCRIII LawnSite Member

38 Visits per year. 12-month contract.
    Jan, Feb = 2 visits
    March - Aug. = 4 visits
    Sept - Nov = 3 Visits
    December = 2 visits

Good luck.
  6. SouthernYankee

SouthernYankee LawnSite Senior Member

First Where are you at in Houston?

Most guys here get 40 -42 cuts