Working near another landscaper

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Lynden-Jeff, Jun 22, 2007.

Would you work at the property or come back

1. Done it anyway.

2. Come back.

1. Lynden-Jeff

Lynden-Jeff LawnSite Bronze Member

Im wondering if I am right or wrong in this situation. We pulled up to our customers house today and found 3 dump trucks from another landscaper at his house. Now they were putting in a patio however I have always had a policy of not working at the same job as a another landscaper, I find it to much of a conflict of interest, not to mention I dont want anyone in the area when im mowing/trimming let alone working 10 feet away. Am I in the wrong here?

2. carcrz

carcrz LawnSite Silver Member

I'd just completely skip the area they are working in. If they're doing a big job, you might have to skip it for weeks if you didn't mow while they are there.
  3. 1MajorTom

1MajorTom Senior Moderator

Were their tools on the lawn? If not, then we would have cut.
    And if their tools were on the lawn, we would have cut around that area, and cut everything else that we could.
    How is it a conflict of interest? Do you install patios?
    Otherwise if you didn't cut, when will you go back? Will the customer be billed for this wasted visit, or will you have to drive back there next week to do double the work if the grass is growing heavy in your area?
  4. sooner74

sooner74 LawnSite Member
    from UT

I cut a lawn when a fence company was working on the property. They did their best to stay out of my way and I did my best to stay out of their way. I did most of the waiting as, I one using the equipment that could hurt one of them. They were just finishing up.
  5. rodfather

rodfather LawnSite Fanatic

We have stuff like that happen to us all the time. We just nod/wave a hello and go about our work is all.
  6. lawnspecialties

lawnspecialties LawnSite Silver Member