Worst Day Yet

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by regnort, Aug 25, 2003.

1. regnort

regnort LawnSite Member

I know you all have had some bad days I just wonder if any were worse than the day I had today (I mean at work, not any tragic loss). Well it started with only 1.5 hrs sleep and got worse from there. I am a firefighter and like most I have a couple jobs. Anyway as I stated before I had a long night and was scheduled to instruct a confined space rescue class at a local university where I work, I also cut the grass at this facility and sense there were going to be other instructors there I figured I would double dip and take 2 hrs and get paid for an extra day ($160, they pay me for a day when I cut even if I am instructing). After stopping by my house to pick up my equipment my truck wouldn't start, while getting ol' Black Betty running I smashed my finger cut the tip and still can't feel anything in the tip, but no big deal. Well after cutting with my main mower I decided to jump on my backup and do some trimming under some spots my Z won't reach, well after about five minutes while backing up the mower turns to the left, I look back and see a huge cloud of white smoke and oil going everywhere. I shut it down and next I see flames rising from around the engine cowling, so I jump off the mower and scramble for an extingtuisher. When the fire is out, I see a busted hydro hose and the tear is directed right into the exhaust which is why it caught fire. I decided then to wait until tomorrow to remove the hose and try to replace it as soon as possible. I was able to finish the class a little early, and decided since I was already hot and dirty I would hit one of my accounts on the way home to try and stay ahead of the rain, well with about 10 min left to cut, dripping with sweat and clippings stuck to my safety glasses I hang my deck on a small stump. Instead of taking my time and looking to see how bad its hung I give it the old grunt method pull my sticks