Would you buy this business, if you were me?

Discussion in 'Starting a Lawn Care Business' started by VAMower, Jun 18, 2008.

1. VAMower

VAMower LawnSite Member
    from VA

First off thanks for taking the time to read this.

I am curious what everyone's thoughts are on this business that I am considering purchasing. I have been mowing with a family friend for the last 4 months and am considering purchasing his lawn care business for about $20k. The purchase would include the following equipment:

Ford Ranger, very low mileage, very good condition
    small trailer
    48" Exmark walk behind
    2 36" Exmark's
    1 21" mower
    2 Echo Trimmer's
    2 Echo Blower's
    1 aerator
    1 broadcast spreader
    numerous tools and garden equipment

all the equipment is regularly serviced and maintained.

The purchase would also include a little over 50 lawns that gross about $85k a year in sales from mowing fertilizing, leaf removal and small planting projects. Currently we mow about 2.5 - 3 days a week. Most lawns are in very good clusters from 3-7 with very few singles. Average lawn price is $38. Most of the current clients have been customers for 5+ years, no payment/collection issues, very loyal. Its a completely legit business with insurance and licensed.

I have been reading this site for a while and have been very impressed with the knowledge of the members. Please let me know if you have any questions. My plan is to go full time and increase the customers and offer a few more services in order to increase revenue.

Thanks in advance.

2. Az Gardener

Az Gardener LawnSite Gold Member

I think the accounts are worth about 7-k. You would have a better grip on the equipment value. Is he offering any favorable terms to sweeten the deal?

3. Big C

Big C LawnSite Bronze Member

Seems like a lot to take on for a solo newbie....are you sure that you can handle it?

4. VAMower

VAMower LawnSite Member
    from VA