Would You Lower Your Price ?

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by Scott's Lawn Maintenance, Mar 15, 2009.

1. Scott's Lawn Maintenance

Scott's Lawn Maintenance LawnSite Senior Member

A customer called the other day and asked if I could do better with my price. I have been cutting the lawn for a few years , she said it was because of financial reasons. I don't really like the idea of lowering my price but don't want to lose a good customer. What would be a good solution ?

2. birtchetg

birtchetg LawnSite Member

If they are a loyal and valuable customer that you want to keep you could offer them a compromise. Say you understand the financial difficulties that they are under and that you value them as a customer. Figure about how much you are making net on the lawn after costs. If you are making 10 bucks a mow net, drop the price 5 bucks a mow and tell them you will just charge them your cost until they get back on thier feet, or for 3 months or whatever. Or actually just charge them your cost. (I wouldnt do that)They will be happy with you because you are dropping your price to what they think is your cost. You will be happy because you are still making a few dollars on the cut and keeping a customer. Win Win in my opinion.

3. mowerbrad

mowerbrad LawnSite Fanatic

If it is a customer that you want to keep I would probably lower it a little. But I would make sure that they understand that the price will be lowered only for the time that they need the financial assistance. After they aren't in a financial situation, then the price goes back up to the regular price.

4. CEASAR LANDSCAPING

CEASAR LANDSCAPING LawnSite Member