wright stander and the 17 hp kawasaki (again)

Discussion in 'Lawn Mowing' started by geogunn, Jan 1, 2001.

1. geogunn

geogunn LawnSite Gold Member
    from TN

there has been alot of discussion abought the wright stander on the forum lately and it has been interesting.

HOWEVER, is the 17 hp kaw big enough for this machine?

if you consider all of the comments made here, many think the 17 kaw isn't that strong. I have no personal experience with this unit.

my point being that if the 17 isn't that strong, is it adequate at all for the 48 inch cut wright stander.

in my town the same dealer sells gravely and wright. he has a real good reputation.

we also have a dane dealer but I'm not as sure about them. the gravely dealer only sells equipment. the dane dealer is a retail outlet for a garden store and you never see the service people.

GEO

2. JimVelke

JimVelke LawnSite Senior Member

Hi Geogunn-
    The 17 Kaw is our most popular engine on a 48" Stander. We offer a good range in hp for each deck size based on what people have bought or asked for. If you look at our web-site you can get an idea of what is most popular. http://www.wrighmfg.com The engine offered in the middle of a range for each deck size will be what most people think they need. Note: Not many would buy the 52" with 17 Kaw if it wasn't enough power for the 48". The 17 Kaw is very popular on our 52" Stander.
    You can get some good advise from other users but consider that thier grass conditions (type of grass, often wet grass, length they cut, etc) may be different than yours.
    I suggest that you get a demo if you're not sure.

3. Richard Martin

Richard Martin LawnSite Fanatic