"writing off"

Discussion in 'Business Operations' started by Fmenvironmental, Jul 12, 2007.

1. Fmenvironmental

Fmenvironmental LawnSite Member

Hello everyone! New member here, this site looks awesome. I am looking for some financial help. I have been cutting lawns for 5 years now. This year I received two jobs where the customer is going to want to do a "1099 form" (not even sure what a 1099 form is for). I have never done anything as far taxes go for the business, so this year I am not sure what i need to do. I do have a DBA, and insurance. Also I am not sure what "writing off" business expenses mean. Everyoone says to me "you can just write that off at the end of t he year", I do not know what that means. What would the benefit of that be? What could be the down fall of that also? I could use any advise for both questions, as I am new to doing pretty much any of the paper trails of owning a landscaping business.

Thanks Again
    Frank
    Buffalo NY

2. MarcSmith

MarcSmith LawnSite Fanatic

1o99 is about like the W2 form you get form the employeer from your full time job around tax time. basically the 1099 form tells the IRS that XYZ company paid you X number of dollars over the last fiscal year and did not take out any taxes. Which means you need ot pay taxes on the money. if you fail the IRS may start knocking on your door with rubber gloves and vaseline....

write- offs- is an expense, just about everything you buy for the business to function is called a write-off or expense. fuel, tools, supplies, business lunches, ad space, ect. these items help reduce your income level.

so if you grossed $10,000 last year, that means you collected $10,000 prior to paying any taxes or calculating any expenses so your press profit was 10k

that number really doesn't mean squat. Net numbers is what counts. IE how much money do you have leftover after paying all your bills. Thats your Net profit. thats the important number.